Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Preserving Coral Reefs

A group of six countries in Oceania – Indonesia, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, the Philippines, the Solomon Islands and Timor-Leste – have agreed to develop a roadmap and plan of action, called the Coral Triangle Initiative, to preserve their coral reefs. The area, which covers over 2 million square miles of ocean, encompases more than 50% of the planet’s reefs and holds 500 reef-building coral species, about 75% of all known species. Yet the region has among the highest human population density and growth in the world, straining coastal resources with high demands for tuna, shark fin, turtle products and live reef fish. Thus saving the coral triangle is becoming an urgent concern.

Ideas of what you can do to help:

travel with the WWF to support their conservation work

– go to the WWF’s Conservation Action Network to take specific action to save life on Earth

– make a Guardian Gift donation

More information is available from the WWF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Science & Technology


, ,